Donnerstag, 14. Oktober 2010


Hello =)

Yesterday we went to Iowa, a state next to Wisconsin. We went to a small city called Marquette, for hiking up the Effigy Mounds, the national monument.
From the top we saw the Mississippi River. Trees and houses are in the water, because the river is so big.
We looked at the Mounds, too.
There are 4 different mounds.

1. Effigy Mound

Effigy means in the shape of something. Most effigy mounds in the Southwest Wisconsin are in the shape of birds, bears or deer. They were built 750 to 1.400 years ago.

2. Conical Mound

Round, dome shaped mounds of earth that are three to ten feet high and 10 to 20 feet in diameter . They were built between 750 and 3000 years ago.

3. Linear Mound

Long, cigar shaped mounds that are 50-300 feet long, 2-4 feet high, 6 to 10 feet wide. They were built between 1300 and 1700 years ago.

4. Compound Mound

Conical mounds that are connected by linear-like segments. Most consist of 3 conical mounds and 2 linear-like mounds. Some compound mounds can be larger.

It was really interesting to see those mounds because you have to imagine that so many years ago the Native Americans buried tribal customs there.

So I hope you could learn something about the 4 different mounds, and I hope you are going to take it seriously, because this were really important things for the Native Americans.

Katharina =)

Keine Kommentare: